Govt set to revive SWRRA

Top bureaucrats, chief engineers in race for posts of chairperson, members

Umer Maqbool
Srinagar, Publish Date: Jul 16 2017 11:45PM | Updated Date: Jul 16 2017 11:45PM
Govt set to revive SWRRAFile Photo

The J&K government is set to appoint chairperson and members of the State Water Resources Regulatory Authority (SWRRA) which is lying defunct over the past 21 months.

Sources told Greater Kashmir that the selection committee for the appointments has shortlisted probables for the coveted positions in the SWWRA which was created during the previous NC-Congress regime.

The recommendations of the panel are likely to be placed before the Government this week which would take a final call on the appointments. The key positions in the body had become vacant on October 17, 2015 after SS Kapur (former chief secretary) and Vijay Abrol and Abdur Rashid Tak (both former chief engineers) completed their three -year term.

According to sources, three IAS officers—one serving and two retired00are in the race for the post of chairperson SWRRA.

Pramod Jain (vice chairman and director general IMPA), Ashok Kumar Angurana (former secretary to the government of India) and Sonali Kumar (former financial commissioner) have been shortlisted by the panel.

For vacancies of the members, sources said the panel has recommended the names of several chief engineers and officers of Law and Finance departments.

Ahmed Muzaffar Lankar (former chief engineer), Javed Jaffar (former chief engineer), HC Jerath (chief engineer Ravi Tawi Irrigation complex), Farhat Tasneem ( formerSecretary, Law and Parliamentary Affairs), Kaneez Fatima (former principal district and sessions judge), Muhammad Iqbal (former Special Secretary (Law), Home department) and Ravi Kumar Mangotra (former DG accounts and treasuries) are in consideration zone for being appointed as members of the body.

When contacted, PHE minister Sham Choudhary said the appointments would be made shortly.

The selection panel which met earlier this month is headed by chief secretary BB Vyas and comprises administrative secretaries of Planning, Finance, Law and PHE departments.

Constituted in 2012, the SWWRA is mandated to fix water usage charges for different purposes including generation of electricity.


This site uses cookies to deliver our services and to show you relevant news and ads. By using our site, you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Cookie Policy, Privacy Policy, and our Terms of Service.That's Fine