CS approves DPRs for 24 towns, cities

Jammu, Publish Date: Feb 17 2017 12:22AM | Updated Date: Feb 17 2017 12:22AM
CS approves DPRs for 24 towns, cities

Chief Secretary, B R Sharma Thursday chaired the meeting of the State Level Sanctioning Cum Monitoring Committee (SLSMC) for implementing 'Housing for All' (HFA) Urban Mission in Jammu and Kashmir under the Pradhan Mantra Awas Yojana (PMAY), an official spokesman said.

“Housing for All Urban Mission to be implemented during 2015-2022, was launched by the Union Ministry of Housing & Urban Poverty Alleviation (MoHUPA) with an objective to address the housing requirements of urban poor viz Economically Weaker Sections (EWS) families including slum dwellers for which all the States are required to prepare ‘Housing for All Plan of Action’ for the period 2015-22 with Annual Implementation Plans on yearly basis. The Mission shall be implemented through 1) in situ slum redevelopment', 2) affordable housing in partnership', 3) credit linked subsidy scheme and 4) beneficiary led individual house construction or enhancement. The J&K Housing Board has been designated as the State Nodal Agency for implementation of the HFA (Urban) Mission in J&K,” the spokesman added.

Commissioner Secretary, H&UD, informed the Committee that Housing for All Plan of Action has already been submitted to the Union Ministry, following which the Ministry asked the State Government to prepare the DPRs of all 25 Towns/Cities under Phase I. The towns include Jammu, R S Pura, Samba, Kathua, Basholi, Poonch, Rajouri, Udhampur, Ramban, Kishtwar, Bhaderwah and Doda in Jammu region and Srinagar, Ganderbal, Budgam, Anantnag, Bijbehara, Shopian, Pulwama, Baramulla, Sopore, Handwara and Kupwara in Kashmir region, besides Leh and Kargil towns.

The Committee also approved the Detailed Project Reports (DPRs) for Beneficiary Led Construction ( New House Construction) for 24 Cities/Towns to the tune of Rs. 240.38 Crore, comprising Central Share of Rs. 73.72 Crore, State share of 7.88 Crore and beneficiary contribution of Rs. 158 Crore, for 4915 beneficiaries.