SHRC working without 3 members

Human Rights Watchdog Has Just A Chairman And One Member

Srinagar, Publish Date: Sep 26 2017 12:45AM | Updated Date: Sep 26 2017 12:45AM
SHRC working without 3 members

The State Human Rights Commission (SHRC) has been working without the three members who the government has to appoint under the Jammu and Kashmir Protection of Human Rights Act 1997.

According to the Act, the Commission should have a chairperson who shall be the judge of the High Court, a member who is or has been a district judge, three members who have practical experience of dealing with matters related to human rights and a secretary who shall be the chief executive officer of the Commission.

But the government has failed to strengthen the staff strength of the Commission that currently has only the chairperson, one member and secretary.

“Earlier the Commission had the team of these members but this time the government didn’t appoint them,” said an SHRC functionary on the condition of anonymity.

Law Minister Abdul Haq Khan said, “Government will appoint them in near future.”

The Commission had been defunct since June 2014. It become headless after the retirement of Justice (retd) Bashir-ud-Din as its chairperson in October 2011. While Abdur Rashid Khan, a former inspector general of police, completed his term as SHRC member in November 2011, another member Javaid Ahmad Kawoos attained superannuation on October 24, 2013. The remaining two members, Amlok Singh and Rafiq Fida, retired in June 2014, leaving the Commission defunct.

In October 2016, the Governor appointed Justice (Retd) Bilal Nazki as the chairperson of the Commission.

This site uses cookies to deliver our services and to show you relevant news and ads. By using our site, you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Cookie Policy, Privacy Policy, and our Terms of Service.That's Fine