BJP new ray of hope for Kashmiris: Ravinder Raina

File Photo
File Photo

Rajouri, Dec 17: Terming Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) as a “new ray of hope” for people of Kashmir, party president Ravinder Raina on Friday accused National Conference, People’s Democratic Party and Congress for “not addressing issues of Gujjar and Bakerwal population in Jammu and Kashmir” for decades.

Raina was addressing a public convention at Dak Bungalow Rajouri, which was supported by various Pahari tribal organisations.

Addressing the gathering, Raina said that there was a time in Kashmir when no one was ready to hold BJPs' flag in Kashmir.

“But now a time has come when BJP rallies are witnessing a large presence of people, ” Raina said. " I recently visited several areas in Kashmir especially in Kupwara and Baramulla and a large number of people took part in our meetings and conventions. This all shows public love towards BJP," said Raina.

"BJP is a new ray of hope for people in Kashmir and people there have great hopes on BJP which is addressing their grievances," Raina said.

Raina said genuine rights of Gujjars and Bakerwals were not extended by the three political parties- National Conference, People’s Democratic Party and Congress- leaving these communities marginalised.

"From not extending the benefits of forest rights act and political reservation, NC, Congress and PDP pushed Gujjars and Bakerwals to corner. They later brought in black law of inter-district recruitment ban to deprive youth of Gujjar and Bakerwals from jobs," Raina said.

"It is BJP and PM Modi headed government which brought an end to this black lawm," Raina said.

Raina also enlisted the demand of granting Scheduled Tribe status by Pahari tribe population and said that Union Home Minister Amit Shah has made an announcement in this regard and "soon BJP will grant ST status to Paharis which is their genuine demand," Raina added.

Others BJP leaders who addressed this convention included BJP J&K General Secretary, Vibodh Gupta, senior leader and former minister Ch Talib Hussain, DDC member Darhal Iqbal Malik, district president Rajinder Gupta, Dinesh Sharma, Bharat Bushan Vaid, Kapil Saryal and others

Related Stories

No stories found.
Greater Kashmir