Five councilors seek no-confidence vote against President, vice-president of Municipal Committee Banihal

The councilors alleged "abuse of power and habitual failure to perform their duties" by the President and his deputy.
Representational Photo
Representational Photo

 Five councilors from the Congress elected to Municipal Committee Banihal in J&K's Ramban district have sought a no- confidence motion against President and Vice-president of the committee-also from the Congress- for what they termed as "abuse of power" and habitual failure to perform their duties".

In a communique shot to Executive Officer of Municipal Committee Banihal on May 18, the five councilors, Shahida Bano, Reyaz Ahmed, Masrat, Mohd Sharief Ganie and Prince Jahangir from ward numbers 1, 3,4,5 and 6 respectively, have asked the EO MC Banihal to convene a special meeting for removal of the President and Vice-president of the municipal committee. 

The councilors said that the decision had been taken by one-third majority of the councilors owing to "abuse of powers" by the President, Farooq Ahmad Wani and vice-president, Ashok Kumar, "habitual failure to perform their duties", "inadequate in some respect/failing to carry out obligation towards the public of Banihal" and "making decisions that other members feel detrimental".

While confirming the development, Executive Officer of MC Banihal, Bashir ul Hassan told Greater Kashmir that the requisition by he councilors is being forwarded to Director Urban Local Bodies Jammu for further procedure as per norms. 

Related Stories

No stories found.
Greater Kashmir