KK Sharma to represent J&K in delimitation panel

KK Sharma to represent J&K in delimitation panel
File Photo of State Election Commissioner K K Sharma

J&K State Election Commissioner, KK Sharma would replace Hirdesh Kumar as member of the Delimitation Commission set-up by the Centre earlier this year for Assembly and Parliamentary segments of J&K, a source disclosed.

The source said Sharma would now be part of the three-member Commission headed by former Supreme Court Judge Justice (Retd) Ranjana Prakash Desai. Constituted in March this year, the panel is mandated to fix boundaries of 90 Assembly segments of J&K and reserve seats for schedule castes and scheduled tribes within them.  It has also been empowered to undertake delimitation of five Parliamentary segments of J&K UT.

Related Stories

No stories found.
Greater Kashmir