Lok Sabha polls: Over 6.97 lakh voters to decide fate of 22 candidates on May 6

1254 polling stations established for smooth conduct of polling
Lok Sabha polls: Over 6.97 lakh voters to decide fate of 22 candidates on May 6
Representational Picture

Over 6.97 lakh electors are set to vote in the last phase of Parliamentary Elections 2019 in Jammu and Kashmir on May 6.

In the last phase, Ladakh Parliamentary Constituency and Pulwama-Shopiandistricts of Anantnag Parliamentary Constituency (PC) are going to polls withaggregated electoral strength of 697,148 voters including 357,879 males,335,799 females, 3,456 service voters (3401 male and 55 female) and 14transgender voters.

To ensure smooth conduct of polls, 1254 polling stations have beenestablished by the Election Commission of India.

The Ladakh Parliamentary Constituency comprises two districts of Leh andKargil. The Kargil district consists of two assembly segments Kargil andZanskar while as Leh district includes Nubra and Leh assembly segments.

The Ladakh PC has an electoral strength of 174,618 voters. Out of total voters,86752 are males, 85,064 females, 2,799 are service voters (2755 male and 44female) and 3 transgender voters.

The ECI has set up 559 polling stations across the constituency for thesmooth conduct of electoral exercise.

Kargil District has 87,781 electors including 44,057 males, 42,405females, 1318 service electors (1315 male and 03 female) and single transgendervoter. For smooth polling, the ECI has set up 265 polling stations across thedistrict.

Similarly, Leh District has 86,837 electors including 42,695 males,42,659 females, 1481 service electors (1440 male and 41 female) and twotransgender voters. The election authorities have established 294 pollingstations across the district to ensure smooth polling.

The ECI has established two polling stations in Leh (Gaik) and Nubra(Washi) segments having only seven voters each while as polling station withthe highest number of voters (1301) has been set up at Leh (Shynam). 

The highest polling station, Anlay Pho (Changthang), has been set up inLeh district at an altitude of 15,000 ft. The booth is barely 50 meters fromthe Line of Actual Control (LAC).

The candidates in fray are Rigzin Spalbar of Indian National Congress(INC), Jamyang Tsering Namgyal of Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) and Asgar AliKarbalai and Sajjad Hussain, both independents.

The voting timing has been fixed from 7 am to 6 pm for the PC.

On the last leg of three-phased elections for Anantnag ParliamentaryConstituency, the two southern Kashmir districts Pulwama and Shopian are alsogoing for polls in the last phase of the elections in J&K State.

The twin districts of Pulwama and Shopian are spread over six assemblysegments comprising Tral, Pampore, Pulwama, Rajpora, Wachi and Shopian. As manyas 695 polling stations have been established across the districts for smoothconduct of elections.

These south Kashmir districts have 522,530 electors including 271,127males, 250,735 females, 657 service electors (646 males and 11 females) and 11transgender voters.

Pulwama District has 351,314 electors including 181,259 males, 169,508females, 541 service electors (533 male and 08 female) and 06 transgendervoters. For smooth polling, the ECI has set up 450 polling stations across thedistrict.

Similarly, Shopian District has 171,216 electors including 89,868 males,81,227 females, 116 service electors (113 male and 03 female) and fivetransgender voters. For smooth polling, the ECI has set up 245 polling stationsacross the district.

The candidates in the fray are Hasnain Masoodi of Jammu Kashmir NationalConference, Sofi Yousuf of Bhartiya Janta Party, Ghulam Ahmad Mir of IndianNational Congress, Mehbooba Mufti of Jammu Kashmir Peoples Democratic Party,Nisar Ahmad Wani of Jammu & Kashmir National Panthers Party, ChoudharyZaffar Ali of Jammu Kashmir People's Conference, Sanjay Kumar Dhar of ManavAdhikar Party, Surinder Singh of Pragatisheel Samajwadi Party (Lohia) andImtiyaz Ahmad Rather, Ridwana Sanam, Riyaz Ahmad Bhat, Zubair Masoodi, ShamsKhwaja, Ali Mohammad Wani, Ghulam Mohammad Wani, Kyasir Ahmed Sheikh, ManzoorAhmad Khan and Mirza Sajad Hussain Beigh, all independents.

The Anantnag and Kulgam districts of Anantnag PC went to polls on April23 and April 29 respectively.

The voting timing has been fixed from 7 am to 4 pm in these districts.

Related Stories

No stories found.
Greater Kashmir