Over 5 lakh voters to exercise franchise in Anantnag District on April 23; 18 candidates in fray

The District is spread over 6 Assembly segments comprising Anantnag, Dooru, Kokernag, Shangus, Bijbehara and Pahalgam
Representational Picture
Representational Picture

District Anantnag is going to polls first in the three-phased schedule for Anantnag Parliamentary constituency on April 23 from 7AM to 4 PM.

The District is spread over 6 Assembly segments comprisingAnantnag, Dooru, Kokernag, Shangus, Bijbehara and Pahalgam.

This South Kashmir District has 529256 electors including269603 males, 257540 females, 2102 service electors (2091 male and 11 female)and 11 transgender voters. For smooth polling, the ECI has setup 714 pollingstations in the district.

The candidates in the fray are Hasnain Masoodi of JammuKashmir National Conference, Sofi Yousuf of Bhartiya Janta Party, Ghulam AhmadMir of Indian National Congress, Mehbooba Mufti of Jammu Kashmir People'sDemocratic Party, Nisar Ahmad Wani of Jammu & Kashmir National PanthersParty, Ch. Zaffar Ali of Jammu Kashmir People's Conference, Sanjay Kumar Dharof Manav Adhikar Party, Surinder Singh of Pragatisheel Samajwadi Party (Lohia)and Imtiyaz Ahmad Rather, Ridwana Sanam, Riyaz Ahmad Bhat, Zubair Masoodi,Shams Khwaja, Ali Mohammad Wani, Gh Mohammad Wani, Kyasir Ahmed Sheikh, ManzoorAhmad Khan and Mirza Sajad Hussain Beigh, all independents.

Kokernag Assembly segment has the highest number of 93874voters (48742 males, 44948 females and 180 service voters) while as Dooru hasthe lowest 79029 electors, including 40764 males, 37889 females and 374 servicevoters.

Assembly segment of Bijbehara has 93516 voters (47067 males,46222 females and 227 service voters), Shangus 89405 voters (45360 males, 43010females and 1031 service voters), Pahalgam 86735 (44115 males, 42498 femalesand 121 service voters) and Anantnag 86699 (43555 males, 42973 females and 169service voters).

Bijbehara assembly segment has highest number of 46225female voters where as Shangus has a total of 1031 service electors which arehighest in the district.

Related Stories

No stories found.
Greater Kashmir