Shopian, Pulwama set to go to polls on May 6

The Pulwama and Shopiandistricts of South Kashmir are slated to go to polls in the three-phaseschedule for Anantnag Parliamentary constituency on May 6.

Over 5.22 lakh electorsare going to exercise their franchise in the twin districts spread over sixassembly segments comprising Tral, Pampore, Pulwama, Rajpora, Wachi andShopian. As many as 695 polling stations have been established across thedistricts for smooth conduct of the elections.


These Southern KashmirDistricts have 522,530 electors including 271,127 males, 250,735 females, 657service electors (646 males and 11 females) and 11 transgender voters.

Pulwama District has351,314 electors including 181,259 males, 169,508 females, 541 service electors(533 male and 08 female) and 06 transgender voters. For smooth polling, the ECIhas set up 450 polling stations across the district.

District Pulwamacomprises four assembly segments of Tral, Pampore, Pulwama and Rajpora.

Rajpora Assembly segmenthas the highest number of 95,633 electors including 49,808 males, 45,738  females and 87 male service voters while asPampore has the lowest 82,188 electors, including 41,929 males, 40,230 females,24 male service voters and five transgender voters.

Tral assembly segment has88,617 electors 45,637 males, 42, 650 females, 329 service voters (324 male and5 female) and single transgender voter.

Pulwama assembly segmenthas 84,876 electors, including 43885 males, 40,890 females and 101 servicevoters (98 male and three females).

Shopian District has171,216 electors including 89,868 males, 81,227 females, 116 service electors(113 male and 03 female) and five transgender voters. For smooth polling, theECI has set up 245 polling stations across the district.

Wachi assembly segmenthas 83,532 electors including 43,848 males, 39,614 females, 66 service voters(63 males and 3 females) and four transgender voters.

Shopian assembly segmenthas 87,684 electors, including 46,020 males, 41,613 females, 50 male servicevoters, and one transgender voter.

The candidates in thefray are Hasnain Masoodi of Jammu Kashmir National Conference, Sofi Yousuf ofBhartiya Janta Party, Ghulam Ahmad Mir of Indian National Congress, MehboobaMufti of Jammu Kashmir People’s Democratic Party, Nisar Ahmad Wani of Jammu& Kashmir National Panthers Party, Choudhary Zaffar Ali of Jammu KashmirPeople’s Conference, Sanjay Kumar Dhar of Manav Adhikar Party, Surinder Singhof Pragatisheel Samajwadi Party (Lohia) and Imtiyaz Ahmad Rather, RidwanaSanam, Riyaz Ahmad Bhat, Zubair Masoodi, Shams Khwaja, Ali Mohammad Wani,Ghulam Mohammad Wani, Kyasir Ahmed Sheikh, Manzoor Ahmad Khan and Mirza SajadHussain Beigh, all independents.

The AnantnagParliamentary Constituency is spread over four districts comprising Anantnag,Kulgam, Shopian and Pulwama.

The Anantnag and Kulgamdistricts of Anantnag PC went to polls on April 23 and April 29 respectively.

The voting timing hasbeen fixed from 7 am to 4 pm.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

four × 3 =