Indian Union Home Minister Amit Shah
Indian Union Home Minister Amit ShahSpecial arrangement

Amit Shah congratulates BJP for sweeping municipal polls in UP

New Delhi: Union Home Minister Amit Shah on Saturday congratulated the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) for its resounding win in the Uttar Pradesh urban local body polls.

In a major shot in the arm of Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath's government, the BJP swept the UP urban local body polls winning the Mayoral seats of all the 17 municipal corporations besides 90 posts of municipality chairman and over 600 wards. In a tweet, Amit Shah said, "Congratulations to all the karyakartas, @Bhupendraupbjp ji and the entire team on the stupendous performance of the BJP in the local body elections in Uttar Pradesh. This is a stamp on the public welfare works of Vijay @narendramodi ji's government under the guidance of @myogiadityanath ji. Heartfelt gratitude to the people for their continuous faith in BJP." "In 2017, BJP won 60 seats but this year we've won more than double the seats in urban local body polls," Yogi said.

"Our ally Apna Dal (Sonelal) won both the Suar and Chanbe by-polls and defeated the Samajwadi Party. I thank the voters for giving us the opportunity in the urban local body elections and by-elections. I want to assure the people that the UP government will continue to work for their development and security," he added.

The BJP candidates also won from Meerut and Aligarh, which the party had lost during the last civic body elections.

Besides, BJP's Archana Verma was elected as the first mayor of Shajahanpur, which went to polls for the first time this year after becoming a municipal corporation.

It is noteworthy that Chief Minister Yogi had fervently appealed to the people to vote for the BJP candidates to add the third engine to the double-engine government in the state during his marathon campaigning.

Out of the 17 mayoral candidates fielded by the BJP, 14 were new while the party had placed bets on the outgoing mayors in Kanpur, Bareilly and Moradabad.

The party won all 17 seats as people voted for the developmental works being carried out by the Yogi Government. Four BJP candidates achieved the distinction of becoming mayors for the second time.

Related Stories

No stories found.
Greater Kashmir