45.7% voter turnout in 2nd phase: CEO

The high profile Srinagar parliamentary segment Thursday recorded 14.1 percent voter turnout, even as the overall voting percentage in Jammu and Kashmir stood at 45.7 percent in the second phase of Lok Sabha elections, officials said.

Addressing a news conference here, chief electoral officer Shailendra Kumar said that 45.7 percent voter turnout was recorded in J&K during the second phase of Lok Sabha elections.

“14.1 percent turnout (1,81,843 votes) was recorded in the Srinagar parliamentary segment, which is double than the turnout witnessed during the 2017 bypoll here,” Kumar said.

Mere 7 percent turnout was recorded in the segment spread over three central Kashmir districts

of Srinagar, Budgam and Ganderbal, during the 2017 bypoll, which was necessitated after Tariq Hamid Karra quit the membership of Lok Sabha in protest against civilian killings during the 2016 agitation.

The voter turnout Thursday was 12 percent less than the 2014 Lok Sabha polls when the segment recorded 26 percent polling, officials said.

According to assembly segment-wise figures of voter turnout, 23.5 percent turnout (18122 votes) was recorded in Kangan, 13 percent in Ganderbal (12839 votes), 9.5 percent in Hazratbal (9777 votes), 8.3 percent in Zadibal (6512 votes), 3.4 percent in Eidgah (2105 votes), 9.1 percent in Khanyar (4358 votes), 4.3 percent in Habba Kadal (2413 votes), 4.9 percent in Amira Kadal (4425 votes), 12. 5 percent in Sonawar (10306 votes), 7.9 percent in Batamaloo (10073 votes), 9.9 percent in Chadoora (8751 votes), 18.8 percent in Budgam (20413 votes), 23.6 percent in Beerwah (23281 votes), 24.3 percent in Khansahib (22182 votes) and 32.1 percent in Chrar-i-Sharif (26286 votes).

Kumar, who was flanked by Kashmir range inspector general of police Swyam Prakash Pani, deputy commissioner Srinagar Shahid Iqbal Choudhary and senior superintendent of police Srinagar Dr Haseeb Mughal, said the highest polling in the Srinagar parliamentary segment was witnessed in Budgam district and the lowest in Srinagar district.

He said 7.7 percent polling (49969 votes) was recorded in Srinagar district, 21.5 percent (100913 votes) in Budgam district and 17. 6 percent (30961 votes) in Ganderbal district. 

The CEO said 70.2 percent (1169182 votes) polling was recorded in the Udhampur Lok Sabha segment in Jammu province.

According to him, Udhampur district recorded 74.8 percent polling, followed by Kathua 74.0 percent, Reasi 72.7 percent, Kishtwar 66.2 percent, Doda 64.1 percent and Ramban 59.5 percent.

Meanwhile, in an official statement, the CEO said the Srinagar parliamentary constituency is spread over 15 assembly segments in three districts, with 1,295,304 registered voters including 1,294,560 general voters and 744 service voters. Among the general voters, 667,252 were males and 627,282 female electors, he said.

The authorities had set up 1716 polling stations across the Srinagar parliamentary constituency to facilitate the polling.

The Udhampur parliamentary seat has 16, 85,779 electors of which 1,665,467 are registered as general voters and 20,312 as service voters. Among the general voters, 876,319 are males and 789,105 females, the CEO said, adding that the authorities had set up 2710 polling stations across the parliamentary constituency.

He said that there were 24 candidates in fray for twin constituencies, including 12 for Udhampur seat and 12 for the Srinagar seat. He said the polling was held under the supervision of General Observers, Expenditure Observers and Police Observers, besides micro observers, while as heavy deployment of staff was ensured across the polling stations in the two constituencies on the day.

The CEO informed that 25 all-women polling stations and 149 model polling stations were established across the twin constituencies.

He said nearly 1.5 lakh first-time voters also exercised their franchise.

“There would be slight changes in the overall figures as the final tallies are being made,” he said, according to the statement.

The CEO complimented voters, political parties, contesting candidates, polling staff and security forces for smooth and peaceful conduct of polling in the state.