LOK SABHA POLLS|8.76% voter turnout recorded in Anantnag, Ladakh witnesses 63.70% polling

Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) J&K, Shailendra Kumar, on Monday said that Anantnag Parliamentary constituency recorded an overall turnout of 8.76 per cent, while Pulwama and Shopian districts, which went to polls in the last leg of three phased election in the constituency, on Monday witnessed 2.81 percent polling.  He said that Kargil and Leh districts of Ladakh Parliamentary constituency recorded 63.70 percent voting.

Addressing a news conference here, Kumar, who was flanked by IGP Kashmir SP Pani, said that overall voter turnout in fifth phase of Lok Sabha polls in Pulwama and Shopian districts and Kargil and Leh districts stood at 18.02 percent.

Kumar while giving the details about today’s figures said, “Pampore assembly segment recorded the highest polling of 5.26 percent while as lowest percentage of 0.76 was recorded in Pulwama segment.” He said that for smooth polling 695 polling stations were set up across Pulwama and Shopian districts, out of which 20 were “model polling stations” and two were “all women polling stations.”Similarly for Ladakh PC, he said, 559 polling stations were established including 21 “model polling stations” and 57 “all women polling stations.”

Divulging the details of the voter turnout in Pulwama and Shopian districts, the CEO informed that the total number of votes polled was 14,6,76. With the completion of the today’s phase, the overall poll percentage of Anantnag constituency touched 8.76 percent. Similarly in Ladakh PC, the overall poll percentage touched 63.70 per cent.With the completion of all five phases of polling today the total percentage of voting in various parliamentary constituencies in the state including Baramulla, Jammu, Srinagar, Udhampur, Anantnag and Ladakh was recorded at 44.51%.

It may be recalled that over 5.22 lakh electors were scheduled to exercise their franchise in Pulwama and Shopian districts of south Kashmir, in the third leg of three-phased schedule for Anantnag Parliamentary constituency.  The number of registered voters in Leh and Kargil districts of Ladakh Parliamentary constituency was 1,73,7,09.

The CEO complimented voters, political parties, contesting candidates, media, polling staff and security forces for smooth and peaceful conduct of polling under all the five phases in the state.

Eighteen candidates, including Hasnain Masoodi (NC), Sofi Yousuf (BJP), Ghulam Ahmad Mir (INC), Mehbooba Mufti (PDP), Nisar Ahmad Wani (NPP), ChoudharyZaffar Ali (PC), Sanjay Kumar Dhar (ManavAdhikar Party), Surinder Singh (Pragatisheel Samajwadi Party (Lohia)) and Imtiyaz Ahmad Rather, RidwanaSanam, Riyaz Ahmad Bhat, ZubairMasoodi, Shams Khwaja, Ali Muhammad Wani, Ghulam Muhammad Wani, Kyasir Ahmed Sheikh, Manzoor Ahmad Khan and MirzaSajadHussainBeigh, all independents, are in the fray for Anantnag Parliamentary constituency.

Similarly for Ladakh Parliamentary constituency four candidates including RigzinSpalbar (INC), JamyangTseringNamgyal (BJP), Asgar Ali Karbalai and SajjadHussain, both independents are contesting the elections.