‘Pratibha- Kala Mela’ concludes at JU

The competition was aimed at reviving the dying art, culture and heritage of the state.

jammu, Publish Date: Sep 13 2017 1:18AM | Updated Date: Sep 13 2017 1:18AM
‘Pratibha- Kala Mela’ concludes at JUFile Photo

Inter-school competition “Pratibha- Kala Mela”, a cultural event of Visual and performing art, organised by Richen bZangpo Art Gallery at University of Jammu, concluded today.

The competition was aimed at reviving the dying art, culture and heritage of the state.

The students of more than 30 schools of Jammu participated in the event and displayed their talent. At the valedictory function, Th. Gulchain Singh Charak, President Dogra Sadar Sabha, was the chief  guest.

While delivering his speech, Charak focused on the importance of preservation of heritage and culture. He appreciated the initiative of Art Gallery and congratulated Jammu University for its contribution in preserving the heritage.

Dr. Meenakshi Kilam, Registrar, University of Jammu, was the guest of honour.

The event was categorized into two phases. First phase included visual art competition which was sub-categorised into painting, sketching, sculptors, embroidery and art and craft competition.

The works of the young artists were displayed in the gallery for 7-days.  The second phase included performing art which was sub-categorised into dancing, singing and modeling competition.

In her welcome address, Prof. Anita Billawaria, Director, Richen bZangpo Art gallery, focused on the importance of art in competitive life. While sharing the objectives of the event she said that it was important to preserve art for the evolution of                                                       society.

Heritage School, GD Goenka School, Government Girls HSS (RS Pura), Co-operative High School (Janipur), KV Number 1 Udhampur, KV Number 1 Akhnur, KV Number 2 Jammu Cantt., KV Bantalab, Sainik School Nagrota, Jodhamal School, APS Akhnur, APS Kaluchak, APS Ratnuchak, APS Akhnoor, Jammu Public School-Sainik Colony, Little Flower HSS, SD Tarapuri-Gandhi Nagar and Carmel Convent School won different prizes in different categories.

Prof. Suman Jamwal, Director- Women Study Centre and Prof. Jasbir Singh, Chairman NSS were also present on the occasion.

Kr. Abhimanyu Dev Singh Billawaria, Director- Communication County presented the vote of thanks. Prof. VS Kohli,  Yogesh Ratan and Yogeshwar Singh were the judges of different categories at the valedictory.

Dr. Shikha Choudhary and Cadet Amandeep Singh from Sainik School Nagrota were the anchors.

Rohit Choudhary, Ajay Khartol and Poonam Sharma from Royal Dogra Club and Diamond Academy cooperated in the organisation of the event. Deepak Sharma was the event coordinator.

This site uses cookies to deliver our services and to show you relevant news and ads. By using our site, you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Cookie Policy, Privacy Policy, and our Terms of Service.That's Fine