3-day youth cultural festival concludes at Kargil

Ladakh becomes third administrative, revenue division of Jammu and Kashmir

A three-day youth cultural festival organised by J&K Academy of Art, Culture and Languages, concluded here on Wednesday.

The cultural event held at Auditorium Hall of Kargil featured paper reading sessions on varied themes pertaining to vernacular languages, stone arts in Ladakh.

Solo and group-based multiethnic song and dance performances by young artists of the Balti, Purgi, Shina and Dardi ethnic groups were also performed, besides painting, music, poetry recital competitions and short story recital sessions.

Deputy Commissioner Kargil Baseer ul Haq Choudhary was the chief guest on the concluding ceremony of the festival while as Superintendent of Police Kargil Dr Vinod Kumar was the guest of honour. Additional SP Kargil Khalid Amin, Deputy District Election Officer Kargil Nargis Banoo and Principal Degree College Kargil Amina Qari were the special guests.

Choudhary appreciated the efforts of the Academy for organising the youth festival and expressed optimism that the event will go a long way in giving a flip to the importance of culture and traditions among the youngsters.

The DC said that such events also help a great deal in channelising the energies of youth towards fruitful and constructive activities.

The chief guest exhorted upon the Academy to organise similar events in future so that maximum youth are provided with opportunities to explore and showcase their hidden talent.

Audiences also applauded the festival.

Earlier, Programme Coordinator Muhammad Abbass Skith during the welcome speech highlighted the objectives of the 3-day festival.

The chief guest and other dignitaries distributed certificates of merit among the prize winners of the music and painting competitions.

The event organized under the overall supervision of Tsewang Paljor saw participation of about 150 talented youth.

Fahmida Fatima and Muhammad Amin Polo conducted the proceedings while as Programme Coordinator Tsewang Rigzin delivered the vote of thanks at the end.