Newly wedded couples vote in Udhampur, Kishtwar

Dressed in wedding attire, a couple that got married only on Wednesday night here headed to polling booth to cast their votes.

Chartered Accountant by profession, Saurav Sharma of Barian, Udhampur accompanied by his bride, Manisha Sharma turned up at a polling booth in the Barian area to cast their votes.

Asked why she gave priority to voting, Manisha Sharma said: “I believe, every individual should prioritise voting because it is our vote that helps us elect the leaders of our choice and gives us right to ask them questions. Everyone should come out to vote.”

Saurav Sharma said: “It is our vote that will decide the development scenario of our area for the next 5 years. It takes hardly 5 to maximum 10 minutes to cast a vote. So, even on the day of marriage, one should vote.”

Similarly a newly married couple cast their vote at a polling station in Kishtwar too.

Accompanied by family members and friends, the bridegroom Sanjay Kumar and the bride Sunita Devi, expressed their happiness after casting their vote at polling station No 35 at their village Chingam.

“I consider voting more important than any other work,” said Sanjay.

Udhampur Parliamentary constituency went to polls in the second phase of the polling in the state. There are 16, 65, 467 total electors in the Udhampur seat. Of them, 8, 76, 319 are male voters and 7, 89, 105 female voters and 45 other transgender electors.

Prominent among the contestants for Udhampur parliamentary constituency include Union minister, Dr Jitender Singh, Ex-MLC, Vikramaditya Singh, Dogra Swabhiman Sangathan founder Choudhary Lal Singh and National Panthers Party chairman Harsh Dev Singh.