RS polls: 7 file nominations

RS polls: 7 file nominations

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and BharatiyaJanata Party (BJP) have fielded two candidates each under a seat-sharing pact.

Seven candidates, including the Leader of Opposition in RajyaSabhaGhulamNabi Azad, Wednesday filed their nomination papers for the four RajyaSabha seats of Jammu and Kashmir which are going to polls on February 7.

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) have fielded two candidates each under a seat-sharing pact.

All the contesting candidates filed their papers before the Returning Officer MuhamamdRamzan, who is also the Secretary of Jammu and Kashmir Assembly.

PDP candidate Fayaz Ahmed Mir and NC candidate Sajad Ahmed Kichloo filed their papers for the RajyaSabha notification No. LA/Elec/COS/101/2015 seat, which is presently held by state Congress president Prof Saif-ud-Din Soz and is falling vacant on February 10.

BJP’s Shamsher Singh Manhas and NC’s Nasir AslamWanifiled  their papers under notification number LA/Elec/COS/102/2015 for the vacancy arising out of the retirement of Leader of Opposition in RajyaSabha and Congress veteran GhulamNabi Azad.

Meanwhile, Congress-NC alliance nominee Azad, BJP’s Chander Mohan Sahrma and PDP’s Nazir Ahmed Laway filed their papers for notification number  LA/Elec/COS/103/2015 for two vacancies—one which has already fallen vacant with the election of  incumbent  MP Muhammad Shafi to the state Assembly and the other held by    GhulamNabiWani (Ratanpuri), which would fall vacant on February 15.

As per the RS election process, all the elected MLAs are eligible to cast one vote for each notification.

Pertinently the polling for the all the seats is going to be held on February 7 and the results would also be declared on the same day.

The BJP-PDP combine is set to win three seats while it would face a tough fight on the other seat being contested by Azad.