Farooq chairs NC meet over 'proxy candidate' allegations

National Conference (NC) President Farooq Abdullah Thursday chaired a meeting of the party leadership to discuss the allegations against it of fielding “proxy candidates” against the Peoples’ Alliance for Gupkar Declaration (PAGD) in the recently-held District Development Council (DDC) polls.

A local news gathering agency KNS reported that the meeting held at the Gupkar residence of the NC president was called to discuss the allegations against NC of having fielded “proxy candidates” in the DDC polls. NC was recently accused by many political leaders including its own leader Basharat Bukhari, Peoples Conference General Secretary Imran Reza Ansari and Peoples Democratic Party’s Member of Parliament Fayaz Ahmed Mir of fielding “proxy candidates” in the DDC polls.

Following a threadbare discussion about all the constituencies, Farooq sought a report from the district presidents over the campaigning and support of PAGD candidates in their respective areas. He impressed upon all the party leaders that the mandate of PAGD was above the party interests.

“We have to make united efforts as we are fighting a bigger battle that is above party interests. Any decision taken by the PAGD in the past or future will be binding on all the rank and file of NC,” a senior NC leader, who was part of the meeting, quoted Farooq as having said in the meeting.

Expressing concern over the “administrative deficit” and “development inertia” in Jammu and Kashmir, Farooq said, “The development scenario has worsened in Jammu and Kashmir.  The misgovernance is continuing unabated, the government’s poor post-COVID19 response to recover from the economic slump and the recent administrative inertia in wake of the heavy snowfall are few cases in point.”

NC Vice President Omar Abdullah, General Secretary Ali Muhammad Sagar, Provincial President, Kashmir, Nasir Aslam Wani, Zonal Presidents Muhammad Akbar Lone and Ali Mohammad Dar, District Presidents Qaisar Jamsheed Lone, Javed Dar, Sheikh Ishfaq Jabbar, G R Naaz, Altaf Ahmed Kaloo, Ghulam Mohiuddin Mir, and Provisional Secretary Showkat Ahmad Mir were present in the meeting.