JKLF stages sit-in, demands release of political prisoners

Greater Kashmir

Most detainees implicated in frivolous cases: Bhat

Srinagar, Aug 20: Demanding release of political prisoners and end to alleged human rights violations by government forces in Kashmir, activists of Jammu and Kashmir Liberation Front (JKLF) Wednesday staged a sit-in at Pratap Park here.
The sit-in was led by JKLF vice-chairman Advocate Bashir Ahmad Bhat.
The protesters alleged that the health condition of most of the Kashmiri prisoners is deteriorating and no attention is being paid towards their plight by the jail authorities.
The slogan-shouting protesters demanded unconditional release of “pro-movement” Kashmiri detainees languishing in different jails despite courts ordering their release.
“The condition of most of the prisoners has worsened but the irony is that no legal or medical aid is being provided to them by the jail authorities,” Bhat told reporters.
“Most of the prisoners have been implicated in false and frivolous cases despite the fact that their culpability has not been proved in the court of law,” he added.
He said the protest was organized to express solidarity with all those Kashmiris languishing in different jails.
“Prolonging their days in captivity and unleashing tyranny on them is against all international laws and brazen violation of human rights,” Bhat added.
Other senior JKLF leaders while paying tributes to the people languishing in jails said, “These prisoners are making sacrifices for the just cause of freedom.”
They said that various political prisoners including Sheikh Nazir Ahmed of JKLF, Showkat Ahmad Khan, Dr Ashiq Hussain Faktoo, Dr Muhammad Shafi Khan, Muhammad Ayub Dar, Javed Ahmed Khan, Ghulam Qadir Bhat, Muhammad Amin Dar, Muhammad Ayub Mir, Noor Muhammad Tantray, Muhammad Ishaq Paul, Feroz Ahmad Bhat, Samiullah Sheikh, Muhammad Ayub Wani, Mahmoud Topiwalla, Sheikh Imran, Sheikh Farhat and Naushad Ahmed are undergoing life sentences.
“Lateef Ahmed, Nisar Ahmed Mirza, Ali Muhammad Bhat, Engineer Farooq Ahmad Khan, Abdul Gani Goni, Tariq Ahmad Dar, Muhammad Rafiq Shah, Muhammad Hussein Fazili, Syed Sajid Hussain Bukhari and many others are languishing in jails and bearing atrocities,” they added.
Showkat Ahmad Bakshi, Ghulam Rasool Dar Edhi, Mir Sirajuddin Dawood, Noor Muhammad Kalwal, Muhammad Yasin Bhat, Muhammad Siddique Shah, Sheikh Abdul Rashid, Bashir Ahmad Kashmiri, Mir Muhammad Zaman, Mushtaq Ahmad Khan, Bashir Ahmad Boya and Showkat Ahmad Dar and family members of various political prisoners were part of the protest.