Lok Sabha polls: Less than 14 per cent voter turnout in Anantnag

13.61 per cent voter turnout was recorded in Anantnag Lok Sabha seat which went to polls on Tuesday, officials said.

Chief Electoral Officer J&K, Shailendra Kumar told reporters during a press conference in Srinagar that 13.61 per cent polling was recorded in Anantnag seat.

Polling began at 7 a.m. and ended at 4 pm for the Anantnag Lok Sabha seat.

Heavy deployment of the Central Armed Police Force (CAPF) and state police was made to secure the polling stations and provide safety to the voters.

There are around 714 polling stations set up for 5,23,566 voters in six polling segments of Bijbehara, Pahalgam, Shangus, Anantnag, Kokernag and Dooru.

Poll authorities had set up 26 polling stations outside the valley for Kashmiri Pandit migrant voters.

Of these, 21 have been set up in Jammu, four in Delhi and one in Udhampur district.

Mehbooba Mufti, the Peoples Democratic Party President, Ghulam Ahmed Mir, state President of the Congress, Justice (Retired) Hasnain Masoodi of the National Conference, Sofi Yusuf of the Bharatiya Janata Party, Chowdhury Zafar Ali of the People’s Conference are in the fray in this constituency.