Yasir, Mirchal, Surinder in PDP list

Greater Kashmir

Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Friday finalized first list of candidates for the Legislative Council polls scheduled on March 2, sources disclosed.

Sources told Greater Kashmir that PDP has decided to field YasirReshi (Kashmir province) Javaid Mirchal (Kashmir province) and SurinderChoudhary (Jammu province) in the polls.

“Names of more candidates will be finalized within a day or two,” they said, adding the party has already reached an understanding with BJP over seat-sharing arrangement. 

Reshi had lost the recent Assembly elections to the National Conference’s Muhammad Akbar Lone by a narrow margin from Sonawari constituency of district Bandipora. Akbar polled 32567 votes while Reshi got 32161 votes.

JavaidMirchal had played vital role in the victory of PDP candidate Raja Manzoor from Karnah segment of district Kupwara in 2014 Assembly polls. In 2008, Mirchal had contested the polls as independent from the segment. 

SurinderChoudhary, who lost to BJP candidate from Nowshera segment of district Rajouri had secured 27000 votes.