'Independent' Nazir Khan elected DDC Chairperson in central Kashmir's Budgam

Photo: @nazirkhanPDP/Twitter

The posts of chairperson and the deputy in central Kashmir’s Budgam district were bagged by a purported independent candidate and the National Conference in the polls to the posts held Monday.

As per the result of the election notified by Deputy Commissioner Budgam, Shahbaz Ahmad Mirza, Nazir Ahmad Khan, an independent candidate, has been elected as the Chairperson while Nazir Ahmad Jahara, who contested on NC mandate has bagged the Vice Chairperson’s post.

Although Khan purportedly contested the election as an independent, he designates himself as district president of the PDP for Budgam.