Two founding members resign from PDP in Jammu

Representational Photo

Two founding members were among three senior PDP leaders who resigned from the party on Thursday.

A former member of Political Affairs Committee (PAC) and state general secretary PDP, Dhaman Bhasin, ex-Member of Political Affairs Committee and State secretary Thakur Fallail Singh and ex-District President, Doda, Pritam Kotwal have resigned from the party.

“With a heavy heart, we are writing this resignation letter to you as we have no option but to quit the party which has unfortunately been hijacked by the unscrupulous and communal elements with mysterious character,” read the resignation letter, which has been signed by the trio.

“Since the demise of late Mufti Mohammed Sayeed, the senior leaders especially those who were the founder members of the party are feeling suffocated and humiliated by the communal and unscrupulous elements who have given free hands by the leadership just to create division in J&K.”

Speaking to Greater Kashmir, ex-District President Doda, PDP Pritam Kotwal said: “We all three have resigned from the party. We are secular people. When Mehbooba Mufti gave a statement about tricolour and it hurt us. Hence, we decided to resign from the party. We worked for PDP with dedication. We were fans of the late Mufti Mohammed Sayeed. Mufti sahab never discriminated with anyone. He knew every worker by his name.”

He said: “I worked at a grassroots level without any greed and helped PDP to grow in Bhaderwah. We were even ready to die for late Mufti sahab. However, the party leadership did not consult us nor has given any position like others who joined later.” Kotwal had joined PDP in 2013.

Earlier, three more leaders had resigned from the party including two founding members Ved Mahajan, TS Bajwa and prominent Gujjar leader, Choudhary Hussain Ali Waffa. Later, all these leaders joined Congress Party in Jammu.