50 given state awards

Farooq Shah, Sahil among awardees

Srinagar, Aug 24: Government on Thursday conferred state awards to 50 persons, some of them posthumously, for outstanding performance in the various fields of life including literature, administration, art, music, handicrafts, industrial development and other activities of public interest, an official spokesman said.
The awards given were for 2002, 04, 05 and 2006.
The Governor Lt. Gen. (Retd) S K Sinha gave away awards to the recipients while Chief Minister Ghulam Nabi Azad was the chief guest at the ceremony organized by General Administration Department at SKICC here.
Among others Deputy Chief Minister Muzaffar Hussain Baig, Ex-Chief Minister and Member Parliament Dr. Farooq Abdullah, Minister for Transport Mangat Ram Sharma, Minister for Youth Services and Sports Peerzada Mohammad Sayed, Minister for Social Welfare Haji Nisar Ali, Minister for Animal Husbandry Taj Mohi-ud-Din, Minister for Power Nawang Rigzin Jora and Minister for R&B Gulchain Singh Charak, legislators, Chief Secretary C. Phungsog, Director General of Police Gopal Sharma and other senior officers of the civil administration were present on the occasion.
The award winners are Prof. Ram Nath Shastri, Amin Kamil, Abdul Majid Kakroo, Ranjeet Singh Chib, late Ghulam Mohammad Wani, M/S Chinab Textiles Mills, late Veerana Aivali, late Rigzin Namgyal Kalon, Prof. M Y Qadri, Prof. M A Charoo, Prof. Aman Rathore, H S Gupta, Dr. Tara Singh, Ashraf Sahil, Wazir Ali, Bhanvar Puri CGM, NABARD, Master Mustafa Muazam, late Fazil Kashmiri, Kavi Rattan, Rita Jintendra, Sonam Gyaltson, Farooq Ahmed Shah, KAS, Eijaz Ahmed Kakroo, KAS, Master Karam Chand, Sonia Sharma, Ahmad Ali Fayaz, Sonaullah Panzoo, Dr. Jitendra Udhampuri, Ghulam Hassan Sofi, Dr. K. C. Sharma, Dr. G. Q. Allaqband, Dushayant Sharma, Sonam Wangyal, Sanjeev Pargal, Lalita Sharma, late Master Rakesh Kumar, Nisar Ahmad Naikoo, Dr. Champa Sharma, Thupstan Paldan, late Ghulam Ahmed Sofi, Rajesh Anand, Tsering Ladol, late Mohammad Maqbool Khaksar, Ali Mohammad Beigh, Khazir Mohammad Qasba, Ganesh Kumar Sharma, Bashir Ahmed Bashir, Khazir Mohammad Wani, IAS, Pardeep Gupta, IAS and Jaipal Singh, KAS.
All 50 awardees received their awards from Governor, however, more three awardees Ved Rahi, Prof. R. R. Sharma and Dr. Tsering Narboo could not received their awards on the occasion for not being in a position to reach the venue, said the spokesman.
The citation of awardees was presented by the Commissioner Secretary General Administration Department Khursheed Ahmad Ganai who also conducted the occasion, the spokesman added.