JKCA announces team for Ranji trophy

J&K Cricket Association (JKCA) has announced the team for the prestigious Ranji Trophy 4-day format cricket tournament which starts next week.

The team was announced on Wednesday evening in Jammu by the selectors in consultation with Irfan Pathan and Parvez Rasool.

The team was selected after selection trials were held for shortlisted players in Jammu and also keeping in view the recent performance of the players in various National level events.

Parvez, who was out of form in both the tournaments, has again been handed responsibility of leading the side.  Apart from the seasoned cricketers who are established names in J&K cricket, the team includes many surprises.

Opener Ahmed Banday, who was left out of T20 tournament, has made his way back into the team and he will be joined at the top of the batting order by Shubham Khajuria.

For the opening slot, there is a surprise inclusion of youngster Jiyaad Nazir Magrey who was recently part of J&K Under-23 team.  The middle order would have Shubham Pundir and Owais Shah. In wicket keeping, the selectors have included Fazil Rashid who did well in both One-day and T20 tournaments.

This time the selectors have included one more wicketkeeper in the team in shape of Suryansh Raina. The inclusion of 19-year old hard-hitting batsman and utility leg spinner Abdul Samad is a major surprise. He is on the radar of Mumbai Indians side for the Indian Premier League and after doing well for J&K team in shorter format tournament, he was also part of J&K Under-19 side in Cooch Behar Trophy. In spin department, the selectors have recalled Waseem Raza and he will be joined by Abid Mushtaq.

Veteran pacer Mohammad Mudhasir has been recalled to lead the pace department and he will be joined by Ram Dayal, Umer Nazir, Rohit Sharma and Mujtaba Yusuf.

The Bijbehara born, Mujtaba was recently selected for Challenger trophy and was also part of J&K Under-19 side in Cooch Behar trophy. J&K is scheduled to take on Uttrakhand in the first match of the season at Dehradun on December 9.

Team: Parvez Rasool, Ahmed Banday, Shubham Khajuria, Shubham Pundir, Owais Shah, Jiyaad Magrey, Suryansh Raina, Fazil Rashid, Abdul Samad, Waseem Raza, Abid Mushtaq, Mohammad Mudhasir, Umer Nazir, Mujtaba Yusuf, Ram Dayal and Rohit Sharma.

Official: Milap Mewada (Coach), Javed Mir (Assistant Coach), Pawan Kumar (Trainer), Karan Nair (Physio) and Bilal Shamas (Manager).