SP college holds annual road race

Mehraj-ud-Din emerged as winner in the annual road race of SP College Srinagar held from Nehru Park to Nishat Garden here on Thursday.

The run was flagged off at 6 am by the college Principal Dr Khurshid Ahmad Khan and around 100 students participated in it.

The athletes ran via Nehru Park, Botanical Garden and culminated at Foreshore Road Nishat, covering a total distance of 7 kilometers.

Mehraj took the lead by sprinting ahead of the rest of the competitors and finished first with a comfortable lead. He finished first with the timing of 24:5 minutes followed by Zaffar Abass with the timing of 26:4 minutes. Mohamamd Athar finished third with the timing of 28:3 minutes

Suhail Bashir,Irfan Ahmad Lone, Syed Ilyas  Rizvi, Aqib Mohi-ud-Din, Ayaz Ahmad Mughal, Mir Haseeb and Sajad Ahamd Rahter finished fourth to tenth respectively.

The closing ceremony was held at the Nishat Garden in which trophies were given to first three position holders while medals were awarded to 10 position holders by the college Principal and senior faculty members.

At the concluding ceremony, Dr Khurshid Ahmad Khan, stressed upon the students to take part in all sports activities coming up during the year.

Dr Shah-e-Jehan Wani, Secretary Faculty Council briefed the students about the importance of sports and urged them to participate in more and more events to be organized by the sports board.

The events was organised by the College Sports Board headed by its Convenor Prof Niyaz Ahmad Wani and supported by Owais Ahmad Wani Physical Director of the college.