8th PGRP held at GMC

The eighth post graduate research presentation (PGRP) of Government Medical College (GMC) Srinagar concluded here today.

The event was attended by hundreds of scholars and doctors from across the board.

 The two day event saw 82 research papers presented by outgoing postgraduate research scholars from 18 departments of GMC Srinagar. The topics ranged widely in their scope and discipline. From the latest management of various diseases and the advances in laboratory procedures, to the program evaluations and epidemiological studies, the postgraduates had covered all aspects of medical science comprehensively, a statement from the medical college said.

The outcome of the rigorous studies was various recommendations for improvement of patient care and implementation of various programs and policies. These recommendations were put forward to an enthused audience.

The expert jury for judging the best papers in basic sciences, medical and surgical specialties were Prof Shariq Rashid Masoodi, Prof Zaffar Amin Shah and Prof Fazl Qadir Parray from Sher-e-Kashmir Institute of Medical Sciences.

The two-day academic feast was organised by academic sub committee of CASS Union of Government Medical College Srinagar. For the first time a paperless conference was conducted in a never-before eco-friendly manner.

All relevant brochures, souvenir and certificates of participations were shared as soft copies in email and WhatsApp. The initiative was appreciated by audience and guests.

Prof. Samia Rashid, principal and dean GMC Srinagar who was chief guest on the valedictory function while suggesting inter-disciplinary research, emphasised on better and relevant basic and clinical research and conduct translational research. She also thanked JK Bank for supporting renovation of GMC auditorium.

Prof. Manzoor Ahmed Halwai, head of academic sub committee GMC Srinagar and chairman of academics, J&K State Medical Council, emphasized on translation of research into actual practice for overall comprehensive improvement of patient care. He strongly urged for providing all necessary support to the researchers. He was also felicitated with lifetime achievement award.

 The best papers were awarded in three categories. In pre and para clinical section, first position was awarded to Dr Snober Bashir of Physiology, second position was won by Saqib Reshi of Microbiology department while the third 3rd position went to Dr.Adil from Pharmacology department respectively.

In medical sciences, the first position was awarded to Dr Muzamil Andrabi from  Medicine department, second position was give to Dr Faizan Younis Shah of Dermatology and the third position was awarded to Dr DuAlam Amin and Dr Arvinder Kaur from Medicine department.

In surgical sciences, first position was awarded to Dr Faisal Qayoom of Ophthalmology department, second position to Dr Awhar Yousuf of Surgery department and the third position to Dr Nasir Hamid from surgery and  Owaise Makhdoomi of ENT department.

Prof. Shariq Masoodi reiterated on improving the prophylactic, diagnostic and therapeutic care which shall be ethically practised while dealing with patients. About research, he emphasized on using IMRAD in presentations.

Prof. Zaffar Amin complemented the researchers for wonderfully presenting their research work.Prof Fazl Qadir Parray appreciated the quality of research presentations and heartening attendance in the audience. Prof Arshad Hussain conducted the felicitation function.