Vaid, Reddy cleared for promotion as DG

The screening committee for Indian Police Service (IPS) promotions on Saturday cleared promotion of two senior IPS officers - Dr.
Vaid, Reddy cleared for promotion as DG
Representational Pic

The screening committee for Indian Police Service (IPS) promotions on Saturday cleared promotion of two senior IPS officers – Dr. SP Vaid and Gopal Reddy – to Director General (DG) rank while three other officers were elevated to ADG and DIG ranks. Official sources told Greater Kashmir that the panel met this morning in the Civil Secretariat to take up promotions at highest level in the Police department. The panel was headed by Chief Secretary BR Sharma and comprised of DGP K. Rajendra, Principal Secretary Home R K Goyal and FC (Revenue) Pramod Jain.

Sources said the committee gave green signal for promotion of Vaid and Reddy to DG rank, taking the total strength of DG-level officers in the State to four.  

K. Rajendra and SK Mishra are working as DGs in the State.

Vaid is presently serving as ADGP headquarters, while Reddy is presently on deputation to the newly carved-out state of Telangana. Reddy, who is retiring on October 31, 2016, is presently posted as Controller Legal Metrology, Hyderabad.

According to sources, Reddy is shortly returning to J&K and had written to the State authorities that he should be considered for promotion to DG level.

The panel also cleared promotion of two 1991-batch IPS officers to ADG level, sources said.

The committee gave go ahead for promotion of AK Choudhary as ADG while it accorded proforma-basis promotion to RR Swain, who is presently on central deputation.

While AK Choudary is presently posted as Managing Director, Police Housing Corporation; RR Swain is serving in the MEA's Bureau of Security – which looks after security of Indian missions abroad.

The committee also recommended promotion of Uttam Chand (SSP Jammu) as DIG, sources revealed.

However, it deferred decision on promotion of seven IPS officers who have completed 18 years of service and are eligible to become IG.

They include Viplav Kumar Choudhary, DIG Traffic Jammu and working as In-charge IGP Traffic Jammu, GareebDass, DIG North Kashmir Range, Vijay Kumar, who is on Central deputation with CRPF, Alok Kumar, DIG Armed Jammu, Surinder Gupta, DIG Udhampur-Reasi range, Johnny Williams, DIG Rajouri-Poonch range and Afhad-ul-Mujtaba (Director SSG).

Sources said the recommendation of the DPC would now be put before State Administrative Council (SAC) headed by Governor NN Vohra for approval.

No stories found.
Greater Kashmir