Prez poll: J&K MLAs to vote today

J&K’s elected MLAs, along with their counterparts of other states, will vote on Monday to elect the next President of India.
Prez poll: J&K MLAs to vote today
File Photo

J&K's elected MLAs, along with their counterparts of other states, will vote on Monday to elect the next President of India.

Talking to Greater Kashmir, assistant returning officer for the polls and Secretary Legislative Assembly, MR Singh, said all 87 elected MLAs of the State are eligible to cast votes in the election. 

Two nominated MLAs and all MLCs are not eligible to cast vote in the presidential election for which all elected MLAs and MPs of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha form the Electoral College.

The ARO said they have set-up a polling booth in the Legislative Assembly Secretariat here for the voting. 

To a question whether any MP from J&K has opted to vote in Srinagar, he said: "No MP (from State) has filed request form to vote here."

The Election Commission of India had also provided an option to MPs to vote in state capitals in case they don't intend to vote in the Parliament House, New Delhi.

An official of the poll-body said they have finalized all arrangements for smooth conduct of the polls.

"The Election Commission of India has deputed Shailendar Singh, (Joint Secretary-level officer) as observer for the voting," he said.

He said the MLAs will be provided pink-colour ballot papers to cast their votes.

"The EVMs are not used in the presidential polls," he said.  

Both NDA candidate Ram Nath Kovind and opposition's joint candidate Meira Kumar visited Srinagar to seek support of lawmakers from the state.

As already reported by Greater Kashmir, the total vote value of J&K MLAs and MPs in this presidential election is 12636—6264 of MLAs and 6372 of MPs.

The value of MLA's vote depends on the population of the state he or she represents. But the value of the vote of MP doesn't vary. It is 708.

The value of vote of J&K MLA is 72.

The State BJP with 25 MLAs and four MPs has a total vote value of 4632. It is closely followed by PDP with total vote value of 4140. PDP has 28 MLAs and three MPs.

The ruling combine would also get support of four more MLAs including two from Peoples Conference, MLA Zanskar Baqir Rizvi and MLA Udhampur Pawan Gupta, taking the ruling combine's total vote value to 9060.

The main opposition National Conference, having 15 MLAs and one MP, has a total vote value of 1788. The total vote value of J&K Congress, which has 12 MLAs and one Rajya Sabha MP, in the election is 1572.

Two more MLAs Hakim Muhammad Yasin, Muhammad Yousuf Tarigami are likely to support the opposition, taking their total vote value to 3504.

The Electoral College for the presidential election comprises of 4,120 MLAs and 776 MPs. The total value of the Electoral College is 10,98,903.

No stories found.
Greater Kashmir