Resistance leaders extend protest prog, but lift ‘hartal’ on Saturdays

Kashmir’s joint resistance leadership on Saturday issued fresh protest programme for right-to self determination.
Resistance leaders extend protest prog, but lift ‘hartal’ on Saturdays
File Photo

Kashmir's joint resistance leadership on Saturday issued fresh protest programme for right-to self determination. 

In a statement, senior resistance leaders including Syed Ali Geelani, Mirwaiz Umar Farooq and Muhammad Yasin Malik said the resistance leaders and activists will protest on Monday (January 16) after 'Zuhr' prayers but there will be full-day relaxation on this day. "There will also be full-day general relaxation from Tuesday (January 17) to Thursday (January 19)," the statement read. 

"On Friday (January 20), which shall be observed as Youme-e-Muzahamat, there shall be no relaxation," the statement read, adding: "After Friday prayers, peaceful protests will be held throughout Kashmir."

There will be full day relaxation on Saturday (January 21) but traders shall observe one-hour sit-in on this day. On Sunday (January 22), the leaders said, there will be full day general relaxation. 

"On Monday (January 23), there will be full day relaxation but "Joint Dharna" by resistance leadership and activists who will protest after Zuhr prayers," the statement said. "On Tuesday and Wednesday (January 24 and 25), there will be full-day general relaxation."

The leaders urged people to observe January 26 (Thursday) as "Black Day" and observe "civil curfew" throughout the day.

"On Saturday (January 28) and Sunday (January 29) there will be general relaxation. On Monday (January 30), there will be full-day relaxation but resistance leaders and activists shall protest after Zuhr prayers," the statement said. 

On January 31 (Tuesday) there will be general relaxation, it added.

Related Stories

No stories found.
Greater Kashmir
www.greaterkashmir.com