8 doctors terminated for 'unauthorised absence' from work

Representational Pic

J&K department of Health and Medical Education on Tuesday ordered termination of eight doctors from services for their “unauthorized” absence from the duty.

An order issued by the department said even as repeated reminders were given to the doctors to report back to the place of their postings, they did not join their duties and hence, they were terminated from their services after serving them several notices as per the rules. The Directors Health Services, Kashmir had served notices to Dr Mohammed Yaqoob Wani of Chewa Budgam; Dr Raheeb Ahmed Shah of Shamswari Khan Khai Mohallah, Srinagar; Dr Omair Ashraf of Bulgarden, Karan Nagar, Srinagar and Dr Adil Rafiq Rather of Redwani Payeen, Kulgam – all Medical Officers, for their unauthorized absent from the duty. The notice was published in the local daily, Kashmir Uzma in its December 20 edition, wherein the doctors were given opportunity to report back to their duties.

After examining their cases in the department, it was decided to give them a last and final opportunity. However, they did not join back in the Directorate of Health Services, Kashmir within 15 days.

Dr Wani was posted in District Hospital Bandipora, Dr Shah was posted in CHC Sumbal, Dr Ashraf was posted in District Hospital Bandipora and Dr Rather was posted in Primary Health Centre, Qoimoh.

“It was presumed that they have nothing to say in their defense and proceedings as warranted under rule 21 (1) of the Jammu and Kashmir Civil Services (Classification, Control and Appeal) Rules, 1956, Rule 25 (2) of the Jammu and Kashmir Civil Services Leave Rules, 1979 and Article 128 of J&K Civil Service Regulation shall be initiated against them.” the order reads. “Therefore, the probation of these doctors has been terminated for remaining on an “unauthorized” absence from the duties and they are discharged from the government service.”

Similarly, four more doctors, Dr Mushtaq Ahmed Laway of Charishareef, Budgam, (posted at SKIMS), Dr Mahrukh Ibrahim of Beerwah, Budgam (posted at Sub District Hospital Beerwah), Dr Jan Muhammed of Alamgari Bazaar, Srinagar, (posted at SDH Sopore), and Dr Abdul Ahmed Wani of Waniloo Tangmarg, Baramulla (posted at MCH Sopore) have also been discharged from the duty for remaining absent unauthorizedly.

The Director Health Services Kashmir had communicated that the four doctors have not resumed their duties despite final notice given to them by the administrative department,’ reads the order of termination issued by Financial Commissioner, Health and Medical Education department, Atal Dulloo. “Hence, they are discharged from the government services.”